About the 3M Award

The 3M Traffic Safety Innovation Award is based on the Safe System approach. The Safe System approach aims for a more forgiving road system that takes human fallibility and vulnerability into account. Under a Safe System we design the whole transport system to protect people from death and serious injury.

The winner of the award will be announced at the Transportation Group conference in Wellington in March 2019, at which finalists will present their project. The winner or team leader of the winning project will win a trip to the 2020 ATSSA conference in USA and visit the 3M head office. The winning project will also be promoted by 3M and the Transportation Group through media and industry channels.

The award ceremony will be held as part of the Transportation Group conference dinner, being held on 5 March in the Banquet Hall of Parliament.

The 3M Traffic Safety Innovation Award 2019 Finalists

There will be an opportunity to hear the finalists discuss their projects in the plenary session, Tuesday 5 March, 10:45am - 12:00pm.

Smith, Mike.jpg

Mike Smith, Project of Stantec NZ and Auckland Transport

Understanding vulnerable road user crash risk on Auckland’s high-risk arterials (CRAF and MUAF)


Jack Donaghy, Project of Saferoads

Virtual reality for safe systems design


Bridget Carden, Project of Abley and Northland Transport Alliance

Northland programming tool


David Boyce, NZ Trucking Association Inc

Safety MAN road safety truck

Poulsen, Hjarne.jpg

Hjarne Poulsen, Project of Dunedin City Council and ViaStrada

Dunedin Central City Schools Cluster

3M logo Science Applied to Life.jpg